Seriously how do you do raise cattle when it never rains?

Help Support CattleToday:

JLScattle":yyfvom42 said:
This is my first year in this crazy business. Last rain was over 4 months ago. Zero in the forecast. How the heck are you to raise anything when it doesn't rain for 1/3 of the year?

Very frustrated so I thought I would vent to y'all. BTW, I expect very little sympathy from those who have done this for a while. ;-)

Its tough. Sadly 4 months isn't that bad... or even a year. Its those 3-4 year droughts that make you question what your doing.

Luckily I have people who have been doing this a while to provide guidance but you need to establish a comfortable amount of hay. I go with roughly 2 years worth. The idea that you can't have too much hay is kind of true, especially if you have barns to store. If its sitting outside on the ground you losing money. I see hay that just rots away on peoples places. They are literally losing thousands of dollars to weather. Don't go to that extreme. That is the equivalent of burying all your money in the yard. Your actually losing money on that so don't go to that extreme.

When we start in to a drought the first thing we do is cull and sell. Any thing that can be weaned is gone. Any thing that gets high headed, has been slipping through fences, or has aggravated me in any way... gone. One you need to get rid of the extra mouths, two it generates cash. I have never kept a calf through the winter or fed one through a drought expecting to make money. A bird in the hand is better than two in the bush... money in the bank is better than oil in the tank. :)

You have to evaluate your cash on hand, hay and basically ration both. I calculate exactly what it will cost to feed x amount of bales, with x amount of ground feed, x amount of tubs, for x amount of time. That tells you exactly where the line in the sand is. You can only change so many variable is that equation... less mouths to feed, more money, or both.