Seriously how do you do raise cattle when it never rains?

Help Support CattleToday:

JLScattle

Reaction score
This is my first year in this crazy business. Last rain was over 4 months ago. Zero in the forecast. How the heck are you to raise anything when it doesn't rain for 1/3 of the year?

Very frustrated so I thought I would vent to y'all. BTW, I expect very little sympathy from those who have done this for a while. ;-)

Sounds like the conditions in Central Tx. I don't how many acres or cows you have, no matter how wet it is you need to be preparing for a drought, the general rule is to stock 3/4 of the lands carrying capacity, but because of the conditions we have had here For the last 20 years I have gone to 1/2 carrying capacity. I now have excess grass but it is dried up and does not have much food value left in it, that is when protein needs to be fed. Do not let your cows get run down because winter is hard on poor cows, it is very frustrating and takes all enjoyment out of the cattle business, :cboy: :cry2:

JLScattle":zdn84p01 said:
This is my first year in this crazy business. Last rain was over 4 months ago. Zero in the forecast. How the heck are you to raise anything when it doesn't rain for 1/3 of the year?

Very frustrated so I thought I would vent to y'all. BTW, I expect very little sympathy from those who have done this for a while. ;-)
If you have a good source of water for the cattle you may just have to buy the rest til spring. Put out my first hay last week.