Scale in Alley and small operation handling facility (pics)

Help Support CattleToday:

SRBeef

Reaction score
In the thread about scales below there was a question on how I fit my Trutest platform scale in my alley. I was in the corral pasture checking for new calves (first one of the year hit the ground this beautiful afternoon!) and thought I would take a couple better pictures of the handling facility I built over the last 4 years or so.

As a beginner I was really at a loss to find plans for a setup that would work for a smaller operation. I would eventually build this from old telephone poles, some guard rail and Formost tub, short alley chute and auto headgate. I built the loading ramp when it became obvious I really needed one. I can sort 4 ways out of the chute. This setup makes weighing, working or loading them by myself quick and safe. The vet can work quickly when he comes for his regular twice a year visits. Keeps his time and bills down and he doesn't have a rodeo when he comes out.

The Trutest scale platform is under the rubber mat (cut from an old pickup truck bed mat) in the alley. The scale head/indicator slips on the blue bracket but is not in these pictures. Under the guard rail is 20 ft (not enough) fenceline bunk which is the only place my cattle get a sweet feed treat once a week or so. This way they come in when I bang on the white bucket. I close the gate and then they can be gradually sorted to the tub and easily worked alone.

Sometimes after a grain treat I leave the gates closed and the tub, alley and auto head gate locked open so they learn that is a way out and file through calmly. This whole system seems to work, at least with my Herefords.

Maybe the ideas would be of help to other beginners.

Here are some pictures:

IMG_0273_Overviewsmalloperationhandlingfacility_032712.jpg

IMG_0274_Overviewsmalloperationhandlingfacility_032712.jpg

IMG_0270_PlatformScaleinAlley_032712.jpg

IMG_0272_PlatformScaleinAlley_032712.jpg