Santa and/or Beefmaster

Help Support CattleToday:

Matthew

Reaction score
Would it be crazy for a newbie to start with 3-5 Santa Gertrudis or Beefmaster. Im in louisiana, black angus do well here and are very common. I make my living doing landscaping. This will be hobby and just something i want to do. I want red and dont want what everyone else has. Ill start with these on 10 acres but have another 12 already fenced that we rotate our horses on if i needed a bit more ground before i buy more land... dont want to ramble on and on. When i mention what im thinking to some people they say its crazy to start with those?!

Thanks for the reply Greybeard. Ill probably go ahead with one of the two... like i said itll be more hobby and help myself with some tax things for the ranch. Weve got some good horses now and now daddy wants cows... ill buy the 10acres hopefully in the next 2-4 months. Wanna pay cash for it but then will need to fence, create shelter etc etc. look forward to learning a ton on here.

I like Santa Gertrudis cattle. Like anything else there are some fools. But a lot will depend on how you handle them. To answer your question I don't think it's crazy.

Thanks JMJFarms i found this site today and read a lot. Today on here was the first id read so much about Gerts being/acting crazy. Other "research" id done talked of them being docile, easy going, and great cows. Obviously there are knuckleheads and they will come but they will go quicker on down the road. Im sure they (cows) will be somewhat like our horses. Like you say according to how we handle them. Ive wanted to do this for years but im so close to being debt free as far as our current 50acrs, house, vehicles, etc... So if i wait a few more months i could enter debt free. So anyways i am curious and interested in others opinions. Thanks again