RyeGrass hay?

Help Support CattleToday:

southernultrablack

Reaction score
Anybody here feed Ryegrass hay? I am feeding some now that was cut later and had already made some seed heads. Just wondering what kind of nutritional value I could expect? I may pull samples to send off next week.

Depends on how ripe the seed heads were.... probably 8 to 10%.....also depends on whatever other grasses may be in it.

We are located in Oregon, the Ryegrass seed growing capital of the world. I have been feeding cows Ryegrass hay in winter for 20+ years. I always test, because it is usually put up late, since Spring rains make it difficult to get it up earlier. You can also get Ryegrass straw here for almost nothing, but you definitely need to supplement that. I have had the hay I bought test as low as 4% Protein with a TDN of .53. It is usually about 6 to 8% Protein with a TDN of close to .60 when it is cut before it goes to seed. We always buy some alfalfa with that and supplement. We start adding the Alfalfa about 90 days prior to calving and ramp it up as calving approaches. We also can get a pellet that is made from the waste product of the grass seed industry. It is about 9% protein and the cows absolutely love it. They will push aside a really good quality bale of alfalfa to lick up the last of those pellets.

I have some planted with Austrian Field Peas for this spring's harvest as we talk. Planted back in October but was late in germinating due to our drought. Mine is Jumbo Rye and comes from.....you guessed it, Oregon. Right now, it and the peas are at about 4".