Rotational Grazing Question.

Help Support CattleToday:

I come up with almost $2000 in fuel costs alone to keep up with harrowing everything with a 2 week rotation. Anything over 2 weeks will leave the patties so hard they will not break up. That is the ones the tumble bugs did not get or hoof action did not already take care of.
There is no doubt that harrowing will more evenly distribute the nutrients. I just do not feel there is enough gain to justify the time and expense of fuel and equipment.
The best grazing system I have ever witnessed was intensive grazing. The step above rotational grazing. The cows do it all with no tractor involvement at all.

I am a cattle farmer in Ecuador, with a year round growing climate, doing rotational grazing on Setaria splendida. I too rotate based on pasture height, not time. There are areas of my farm where the pastures are ready in as little as 45 days, other areas where it takes up to 80 to reach the suitable height. During the rainy season, it can take 2 weeks longer for the pasture to be ready.
One thing I have learned through experience is small corals (half an acre) and small groups (4-8 head) work much better. Doing the math, I can handle 2-3 head per acre just with the pasture. In addition, taking full advantage of the tropical climate, I give chopped sugar cane and elephant grass with a barley, corn, and wheat mix with mineral salts added on a weekly basis, and for the yearling bulls, twice a week. This additional food often gives me a day or 2 extra in each coral. Its important to remember that a day or 2 extra in one coral, means all the other corals are maturing that much more.
My first angus bull will be ready (16 months) in March, and I am planning to give him extra sugar cane, etc. for the last 90 days. Makes me hungry just thinking about it.
Jungle Dave

novatech":3afoj2x4 said: