Rotary Rake

Help Support CattleToday:

ClinchValley

Reaction score
Saw a guy loading metal to scrap down the road a couple weeks ago. He was about to load a frontier-RR1012 rake. Talked him out of it for $25.

The gearbox part has been ran out of oil i can only assume. Gears are chewed up and cast casing has a 2" triangle busted from the inside out. Found a guy who can weld it closed for a little of nothing.

Pretty sure i can get gears and such through the JD dealer. Assuming i can get it going for no more than $1500, would y'all fool with it? I have never used one. Our current rake is a 3 point 4 wheel rake.

The rest of the rake is in good shape. Missing a bolt here and there. Pretty much complete though.

We borrow a rotary rake from a neighbor when we do the sorghum/sudan that is real tall as the wheel rake and the side delivery rake just won't pick it up. I am no mechanic, but I would think that it would be worth fixing if it is not too much output of money and more some of your time. Gotta like doing that sort of stuff though. They do a real good job of raking if they are working right.

farmerjan":37wqxq72 said:
We borrow a rotary rake from a neighbor when we do the sorghum/sudan that is real tall as the wheel rake and the side delivery rake just won't pick it up. I am no mechanic, but I would think that it would be worth fixing if it is not too much output of money and more some of your time. Gotta like doing that sort of stuff though. They do a real good job of raking if they are working right.

Mind running this by again? I have a really trying time with tall sorghum/sudan. Interested if you use one as may be implied here and how the workings differ for that crop in particular. I have seen pictures of raking bermuda so I have an idea how they differ from a tedder, but not much. I have the tedder and both basket and parallel bar rakes.

Thanks.