retained placenta of twins

Help Support CattleToday:

Rich Harry

Reaction score
greetings
new author, I have a large beefmaster 7 yrs old. She had twins 2 days ago, 1 large one small. Both are alive and doing well. Daddy was a beefmaster. Placenta drags the ground. She is the only gal that won't come in to corral for 4-5 days after. Last year she had twins and both were DOA. Had to pull them with Mom in loading chute.
What can happen ? some say 3 days some a week or 2.
thanks

you should not try and pull the placenta out. it could cause much damage. just leave it and it should be gone in a few days. if it does persist for an extended period of time you should have your vet check her out.

we have a cow, big cow, that has hers "hanging" out for a few days post birth. after 4 or 5 days the afterbirth is gone, and she looks just fine.

i agree with Ryder. if you can tie it up in a knot do that. But if you cant catch her dont worry about her too much just keep an eye on her. retained placenta is pretty common with twins. why dont you coax her in with some feed? no self-respecting beefmaster momma can resist a little feed...

I've never had any yet that didn't clean on their own it sometimees takes a few days , what ever you do , don't try to pull it out . my cows will usualy follow me anywhere with a bucket of feed, that should work to get her in.