Registered Angus Question

Help Support CattleToday:

KYFarmKid

Reaction score
I have been farming commercial beef cattle with my dad for several years. I have thinking about slowly starting my own registered angus herd for the last couple years now. As I get closer to doing this I am making sure I have a solid plan in place so that I can be successful. I have done some reading and talked to local producers on the best way to start out. I feel that I have a good plan an place and now I am starting to work out some of the finer points. The one question I want to have cleared up is the paper work side of things. I know that keeping a registered herd involves a lot of good record taking. But I am still a little unsure about the all the paper work that must me filed with the angus association.
From what I understand, once you are a member of the association you pay your regular fees. When you by or sell other registered cattle you must pay transfer fee to have their papers transferred to you. When you have a newborn you fill out a form online with all of its information to register it.
Is there anything that I am leaving out or not correct on?
Also if you have a calf from AI where/how does the certificate come into play?
Any other advise or links that may help me about would be greatly appreciated!
Thanks

You pay your annual dues. The seller is responsible for paying transfer fees if your buying theres no cost to you. I put my calves on when there born then if at weaning they are keepers i register them. The AI certificates are bought as you need them and stored in a bank kinda deal then used as you register the calf.
I do all my things online, takes only a few seconds for each calf.
You need to turn in all the data you can BW,WW,YW hip heights, the more you turn in the truer your EPDs will be its all a pretty simple process once youve done it a few times.
Go to angus.org and all the fees and info is there.