Red and White Red Poll ?

Help Support CattleToday:

Sugar Creek

Reaction score
Have about a dozen registered Red Poll cows, I have raised myself, running with the crossbred cows. Last year bought a yearling Registered Red Poll from neighbor a county over. There is no chance the cows were exposed to another bull. The first calf of the year came last week out of a Red Poll cow that has never had any calves but the classic Red Poll red with white switch. Her calf was a large bull but marked like a red and white Maine Anjou or Maine influenced Shorthorn. My bull supplier also raises club calves for 4H projects by A.I.
Could the bull, which looked like a Red Poll, been accidently the result of a semen mixup or do sometimes Red Polls have this much white? I am not a beginner and have never seen this before, both parents were registered Red Polls and looked the part.

I always thoght they were solid red. There is a guy on here with the screen name Jovid that has Red Polls. You might PM him and see what he says.

Sugar Creek":1trqjb3q said:
do sometimes Red Polls have this much white?

Ours don't. We've only had a small herd of 25 or so since 1999. I know these cattle from well before '99 and have no knowledge of a similar case.

PM me if you find out. Red polls are good cattle.

How old were the bull calves from the crossbred cows when you weaned them or pulled them from the pasture??

I have 13 red polls and the only white they have is on the tail switch (however I've not really examined them on the bag or between navel and bag but to my knowledge they don't have any white there).

I would suspect that one of your commercial bull calves bred this cow, not the red poll.

Sugar Creek":2x0zbhlq said: