Recording Crossbreds

Help Support CattleToday:

tigerstripe794

Reaction score
Hello!

Short Version of my Question: I'm looking to breed my grade heifer to a registered bull and I'm looking for what (if any) breed associations are "Open" and crossbred animals can be recorded/registered? After some miscommunication with the Hereford Association, I was very disappointed to discover that the Hereford herd book is completely "Closed" to animals that are not 100% Hereford. At first glance, it looks like Shorthorns may be a possibility through their ShorthournPlus program, does anyone have experience w/ this? Are there other breeds that are open to crosses?

Here's the Long Version of where I'm at and what I'm try to accomplish:

I've raised goats for 15+ years (don't hold that against me!) and I'm brand new to beef cattle. I have a black baldy heifer calf that was orphaned and given to me by my uncle... mainly because I'm a sucker for babies and I have a knack for keeping things alive! My hard work paid off, and my no-colostrum calf is now 3 months old and doing great! :) I've always wanted a seed-stock beef herd and I feel like this 'adventure' has been nature's way of kicking me off the fence and just doing it!