Rare Breeds

Help Support CattleToday:

lawdawg1

Reaction score
I'm just getting into the busness and have about 8 acres. I want to put rare cattle, watsu?? (Japanese cattle) or another rare breed. Any suggestions? Only one bull and three-4 cows. I want this to be a experiment before I get fully involved in them.

There are so many unique rare breeds that need conscientious producers to help maintain and preferably increase their populations. In case you aren't aware of them, a wonderful organization is the American Livestock Breeds Conservancy (http://www.albc-usa.org/). ALBC is a great resource for finding out about the various rare breeds and producers who currently raise them.

You may want to consider artificial insemination rather than buying a bull. It will allow you to have an extra cow if you don't have a bull also eating grass. There are several other advantages:
-bulls can be rough on equipment and potentially dangerous
-It is hard to justify the costs of maintaining a bull if he is only going to breed a few cows
-Once you have daughters out of the bull that you want to breed back, then you have the hassle of having to find a new home for the old bull and find another to replace him.
-typically a person can buy semen from some of the top bulls in any breed at a cost significantly less than you could afford to pay for a herd sire (especially when he is only breeding 3 or 4 cows).

Good luck on your new adventure!

Try feeding out a steer first, and eat him. Then see if you want to get into the breeding aspect. Just getting basic equipment for handing is a major expense for the little guy. This board will certainly tell you what they think. LOL They are usually correct.

Whatever you decide upon just make sure you match the type of cattle with your environment --- kinda like --Don't Put Scottish Highland cattle in South Florida and dont put Gerts in Edmonton. Alta

lawdawg1":3nfr7nqv said: