Ranching for a living

Help Support CattleToday:

okiegirl2008

Reaction score
Hi everyone, I am new to the board. I am here for advice.
Right now we have 17 acres. We just bought this place as we wanted something with a little land but not a huge amount. We love it here but our goal is to ranch someday. My husband works-just started his own business as a distributor and brings in good money.
Well, we want to take a loan out for around 200k when we can get a decent downpayment and enroll in the beginning farmer program. We are not going to take a loan on the cows -just land and equiptment.
We are hoping that the annual selling of calfs (sp?)will be enough to pay off the annual land payment as we understand we cannot make a profit until the land is paid off.
Am I missing anything? I know ranching is hard work. I am a farmer's daughter-been around it my whole life but not ranching. Every single person in my family is a cotton farmer. I have my Bachelors Degree but I am more interested in ranching than anything. I get so excited just thinking about someday having a ranch.
My husband was raised around cattle operations. He understands more about cattle than I do.
My other question is what is tha bank going to think if we walk in there and ask for a 200k loan with maybe 20-30k down payment? We are young(23 and 25) and are living in our second home. We bought our first home when we were 18 and 20 and just moved into this new place. Although, both of our families are in the ranching/farming business we are not helped by any of them. Everything we have is from hard work by us--and that is how we want it.
I guess what I am asking is --can you make a living ranching these days while having a side job(full time job)

Welcome okiegirl2008.
Do a search for posts by Bez, Bez!,Bez+ and any other Bez (with something following the Bez) He has posted some fabulous advice and answers to your questions.