Questions

Help Support CattleToday:

A

Anonymous

Hi. I am trying to decide whether or not to buy a farm. It is set up for feeding out cattle and that's what I would do with it.

My husband has farmed all his life and has about 70 head of cows. His management is....um...less than efficient. He has some very good bulls and good producing cows, but not much in records, management, etc.

If I buy this farm, it will have to pay for itself. I know better than to think I will make any money! To breakeven, I know I need to run a very tight operation.

I am not experienced in cattle, but with his help (and equipment) I should be able to pull this off...I think.

I've read so many numbers I can't keep them straight anymore! There is so much information out there and it's hard to sort through what is really something to be concerned about and what is not. I plan to feed 100 or so calves. Some I will have to buy, some will come from his cows (or mine as I get them).

Is the grid pricing and value-based marketing stuff for real? I do understand that I need to raise quality beef, not just a bunch of cows, but do the price systems really make that much of a difference?

My husband just hauls his stuff to the local sale barn. I think that if I raise good lots of cattle, I can get better prices either by selling them directly to the packer (though I may not have enough) or something.

Also, they have a tag program in this state that certifies your cattle are healthy. I understand that could be important if I were selling feeder calves, but since I will be doing the feeding. Is it still important?

Am I totally misguided to think that having calves all year long...just whenever...and then hauling them off to the sale barn...a few at a time...is not making the most of our resources?

I have a zillion other questions, but it's near the end of my night shift at work and I'm brain dead. Any help would be appreciated.

[email protected]