Putting bottle calf on Cow while pregnant

Help Support CattleToday:

libertyacrefarm

Reaction score
Hi Everyone,

I am new to this discussion board, glad to be here. I have a question I think I already know the answer to, but want someone to tell me if I'm crazy or correct. I am considering buying a Jersey cow from a local farmer with the purpose of raising bottle calves on her. She is supposedly bred back to an Angus bull but its only been a month. She's been turned dry for 3 months now. My question is this-I think I read on here or somewhere else that I could put a calf on her now, and as long as I feed her very well, she won't lose condition over her gestation and the calf will be fine as well. OR- should I wait till she calves in early fall to put any extra babies on her? Thanks for you time and any responses!

Hi Everyone,

I am new to this discussion board, glad to be here. I have a question I think I already know the answer to, but want someone to tell me if I'm crazy or correct. I am considering buying a Jersey cow from a local farmer with the purpose of raising bottle calves on her. She is supposedly bred back to an Angus bull but its only been a month. She's been turned dry for 3 months now. My question is this-I think I read on here or somewhere else that I could put a calf on her now, and as long as I feed her very well, she won't lose condition over her gestation and the calf will be fine as well. OR- should I wait till she calves in early fall to put any extra babies on her? Thanks for you time and any responses!

If you mean she's been dried off three months ago (turned dry) and is no longer lactating she won't be feeding anything till she calves again. You may have read on here that one of my heifers considers herself exempt from such laws of nature... that's a maybe one in 10,000 occurence.