Pumping Oil

Help Support CattleToday:

Jalopy

Reaction score
I have no knowledge of crude oil pumping. How many oil wells, either on dry land or in the ocean "spew" oil like the one that is doing it now in the Gulf? I have always been under the impression that the oil actually had to be pumped up from below ground. Just curious. Thanks in advance for any replies.

I'm not an oil person but several years ago they explored for oil along a fault line that runs through this area. One of the wells turned out to be a gusher and spewed oil out of it like you see in the movies. They took some pictures and capped it off since it wasn't the type oil they wanted. I was told that the reason this one spewed was the area of the fault they drilled in was under a lot of pressure which is one of the things needed to form oil. So I guess its about like a water well versus and artesian well, it all has to do with the below ground pressure. Maybe Backhoebuggy will offer a better explanation.

My knowledge of oil drilling is limited but I believe they have a BOP (blow off protector) that prevents it from doing this. Again I may be wrong but I know they do have BOP's....just unsure if this is its purpose or something else.

It all depends on the wells. Alot of oil wells free flow. They have wells in other countries that makes hundreds of thousands of barrels a day. In comparison I have wells that make 800 barrels a day thru a 20/64" choke up 4" pipe... they have wells that flow thru 6" chokes up 16-24" pipe. :shock: You can put alot of fluid on the ground in a hurry.

Stuff happens all the time. Brand new tanks bust holes in them because of impurities in the metal, we had a dozer operator back over a well last week, just all kind of things can happen. There are zones on land that even with the technology today the big companies will not drill into because they are afraid of a blow out. It happens... and has the potential to happen more often than what people would like to know about.