PTO driven Adams fertlizer buggy

Help Support CattleToday:

504RP

Reaction score
I bought a used PTO driven fertilizer buggy. Bought it yesterday off of a man that bought it at an auction. He couldn't tell me much about the operation of it since he never used it his self.

I have always used the buggies from the feed store. They were ground driven. The one i bought appears to be ground driven on the conveyor and the paddles are PTO driven. I have never used one like it before.

Anyone ever used a buggy like this ?

I have one similar except the conveyor has been converted to hydraulic drive which is good as it is easy to stop and start the feed of the fertiliser when not required. The disadvantage is the way to vary the rate is by opening/ closing the opening and increasing ground speed which seems to work fine for me. Have you tried Googling for a manual? My buggy is very old yet I was still able to find a free manual for it online. I suppose the fact that the manufacturer is still one of the top manufactures of spreaders on Australia helps.
If interested PM me your email address and I can send you a copy of my manual. Mine is only a 2 tonne machine with a single spinner. I did note when I just looked and they said don't reverse the machine with the V belt engaged.

Ken

The PTO directly connects to the paddles. The ground drive chain to move the floor grid has a disconnect lever for transport right there where the chain is located.

The half of drive link on the buggie that attaches to the pto of the tractor had been picked up or stolen one, when the guy i bought it from went to get his truck and hook it up to take it home from the auction.