??? PROFIT ???

Help Support CattleToday:

Reaction score
OK SO I AM A NEWBIE ON THIS BOARD BUT I AM A 4TH GENERATION FARMBOY. AND I AM WANDERING WHAT ARE SOME TIPS FOR MAKING FARMING PROFITABLE? FARMING IS WHAT I LOVE BUT TO MAKE A LIVING AT IT IS VERY DIFFICULT. I WORK A FULL TIME JOB AND FARM THE REST OF THE TIME. I KNOW THIS IS A LOADED QUESTION. ;-)

The first thing is to quit typing in all caps unless you have a health oriented problem like one of the members do.

dun

My Dad used to tell me the only way to make farming profitable was to get a degree in Animal or Crop Science and go to work for a University. :lol:

What's happened to them Jawjuh Bulldogs? ;-)

not to be a smart alec, but typing in upper case or lower case does not affect my wallet. And the reason for doing so is because i have to use all caps for a mapping program where i work and i just forgot to take the caps lock off

Minimize expenses and maximize income. I know that sounds so simple that it sounds like a smart alec reply. However, it means do not spend any more money than necessary on things like new equipment and new trucks. Dont spend more money than necessary on fertilize, feed, hired labor, etc. Buy animals that work for you and dont pay a huge price just for something that looks good or fancy. You do the work to improve the animal so you get paid for it and not you payiing someone else for the improvements they have made. Do whatever you can to get the most money for the animals you sell. That may mean buying the animals back at the auction if they dont bring what they should. If you borrow alot of money on things that are not absolutely necessary, you are setting yourself up for disaster or you are tying your future to a life of making money for the bank before you have any for your family.

Honestly-- unless you hit a niche market . You better be going in with all the land paid for and most of the equipment.
Or else you are setting your family up for a rough go.