pregnant cow

Help Support CattleToday:

mulecreekfarm

Reaction score
I am new to raising cattle and I have a question. I have a Guernsey Heifer that I had AI on March 5th of this year and she was due to calve on December 12. Well no calf as of yet. I was wondering how to tell when she is close. She has bagged but she has not started to swell and her hips are not wide yet (that is what to internet tells me to look for) but this morning there was a little discharge but she had some about a week ago. She is still eating and hanging out with the others. What should happen next? and what should I be looking for?
Thanks for you help.

Do you have a headgate?
If you do glove up and take a feel around.
Hard to miss a full term calf. :shock:

dumb to this redfornow,how do you go about doing that? I would like to learn to palpate, not really for age really just to know if they are breed.

Our cows will hold their tails away from their back sides and are not pooping or peeing. They will also switch their tails at their flanks. The back may also be humped up like she was peeing, but she is not.
You may also see the water bag come out, which is a yellowish white color. Some just have the bag burst with a big splat.
It is now just a waiting and watching game.
we check ours every 3-4 hours. Every once in awhile one will fool you and you find the calf already on the ground.

Don't glove up. If you are new to this you won;t know what you're looking for anyway (I know I wouldn't). The calf will come when its ready. When you see feet, then you will know for the most part. If she is making an effort without progress, then you have a problem.
Don't be too quick to assist at any stage, this is something I have to remind myself. Is a fine line as she is a heifer and you don;t want to ignore problems, as someone else said, watch for progress. Keep a close eye on her and good luck!!