Prarie Dog Control

Help Support CattleToday:

3waycross

Reaction score
chimp1.jpg

Scratch and Pokey circa 1957, copywrited National Prarie Dog Herding Museum

Linus "Scratch" McGee (1929-1971)

Widely considered to be the greatest PD herder and guide of all time.

Reliable sources report that nearly 1 million PD's were eliminated by hunters under Scratches charge.

Linus McGee was born Jan 24, 1929 in Brooklyn, NY to Lester M. and Mildred McGee. His parents were circus performers by trade, but young Linus longed for the open spaces of the west. At the age of 16, Linus stole a horse from the circus that employed his parents and headed west.

After nearly two months of roaming, Linus settled in the sleepy town of Snake Bite, WY.

He was quickly befriended by the local folks who gave him his familiar handle "Scratch" for his constant digging at the "saddle rash" that he had acquired from his journey.

He was hired on as a hand for a local PD herding operation. That is where Scratch found his life's calling. He was soon the ranch's top herder. In 1949, he went out on his own and started Scratches Pairie Dog Herding and Guide Service.

Soon Scratch's talent was known nation wide. He booked hunts for many of the barons of industry from the east and even once guided for the Arch Duke of Slovenia

A long time friend of Scatch's recalls;

"Scratch didn't invent PD hearding, but he made it into an art form. I can remember it like it was yesterday. Scatch on his favorite mount "Pokey", charging thru a PD town, six gun a blazing, his yellow teeth shining in the mid day sun. It was a sight to behold."

On June 12 1971, Scratch succumbed to the sport he loved so much, when he was fatally gnawed by a wounded PD bull.

Eye witness reports recall that one of Scatch's clients had made a bad shot on a particularly large bull and that the wounded animal had made it into a sage brush gully nearby. Scratch dismounted, reloaded his 45 colt and headed into the thick cover.