Pistol Hunting

Help Support CattleToday:

flaboy

Reaction score
How many of ya have? How about a brief story. Here's one of mine.

Cousin shows up the night before we head out. I didn't know he didn't bring a gun. we are hunting at my uncles place so camped out. Next morning I find out he has no gun (he didn't know we were going). I tell him to take my rifle and I will take my 8 inch heavy barrel Dan Wesson. Everyone sort of snickered. They didn't know I had been shooting silhouettes with it for several years in competition.

About an hour later I am sitting on the ground against a tree behind some brush when I see a nice little 4 (turned out to be a 5 point) walk up to within about 50 yards. He turned broadside to me, I took my normal two handed grip, placed the sights just behind his front shoulder and squeezed as gently as I could till she popped. The deer took off like a rocket and I thought I had missed. I kept telling myself I didn't but when they run like that you have to think. I waited a couple minutes and listened. Nothing! I got up and walked to where he had stood and saw the blood. I trialed the blood into the palmettos where it got thick. I found him just on the other side. I perfect heart shot. He had run about 50 yards.

Was my first deer with a pistol and the only deer that season. All that silhouette shooting paid off that day.

Pig and deer hunted with a .41 Mag Red Hawk and rabbits, coyotes and deer with a Contender in a dozen or more chamberings.

I've took 3 bucks with a S&W model 57 41 mag using hard cast bullets. At any normal range its just as good as a rifle. I lucked out the other day an found a Marlin 1894 NIB chambered for the 41 mag, a very good find.

I'm a good shot with a rifle, but I'm hopeless with a pistol, will never attempt to hunt with one.