pearl millet and cow peas

Help Support CattleToday:

I did a test run back in 2011 to see if it would work....but everything was a failure that year so nothing to report.

I've been planting summer annual mixes for the past 6 years in south Ga. These are my favorite species...roughly in order:
Pearl Millet (tif leaf 3 and BMR 360 King agri)
Sunn Hemp
Sorghum Sudan (fear the sugar cane aphid if you're in the south...i only put a few pounds in)
Crabgrass
Cowpea

and this year i'll be adding: buckwheat, Sunflower, Alyce Clover, and Okra. These mostly for soil health, and not because cows love them.

Cowpeas can't really keep up with the growth of the millets and Sudans...you get some second growth after your first graze if you don't hit it too hard the first time through, but the sunn hemp is the heavy lifter legume...its grows like crazy.

jdg said:
I've been planting summer annual mixes for the past 6 years in south Ga. These are my favorite species...roughly in order:
Sunn Hemp
Sorghum Sudan (fear the sugar cane aphid if you're in the south...i only put a few pounds in)
Crabgrass
Cowpea

and this year i'll be adding: buckwheat, Sunflower, Alyce Clover, and Okra. These mostly for soil health, and not because cows love them.

Cowpeas can't really keep up with the growth of the millets and Sudans...you get some second growth after your first graze if you don't hit it too hard the first time through, but the sunn hemp is the heavy lifter legume...its grows like crazy.
didn't realize sunn hemp was a legume, I thought it was a grass... I've considered Pearl millet but it's hard to get seed here.

We've done a lot of buckwheat, our problem with it is it wants SOOO much water in our temps and irrigation just knocks it down flat.. it'll grow 6 ft high but be 6" off the ground doing it... we use it for green manure alone

jdg said:
Sunn Hemp
Crabgrass
Cowpea