Pasture help

Help Support CattleToday:

tim1970

Reaction score
I have a small 10 acre pasture that I am trying to improve upon. I just bought the land last summer, and to say the land was neglected before I bought it would be an understatement. I would like to know what I can do to try and get it back into shape. I am not looking for any quick fix, just something to be able to support my few steers that I raise for beef. I would (if at all possible) like to be able to keep my steers on the land while I am working on it, since I do not have another place to put them. I just got what was left of the weeds and grass from last summer knocked down, but I am unsure of my next step. Do I need to fertilize (is it safe with cattle on it?), re-seed or what? Also, will I need to disc my entire field, or can I just seed over the top.

Sorry for all the newbie type questions, but I am just learning.

Thanks

Tim

Well not that I know alot, but we farm more grass than anything. What type of grass is it? How may weeds? I'm sure the grass in TX is alot different than it is here in OH, but the best advise I can give. If you have alot of weeds always use a brush hog to cut them, makes an uneven cut so it takes longer for the plant to heal itself. If your cleaning up tall grass use a finish mower, makes a smooth clean cut so the plant heals fast. Get the weeds cut before they head out. We fertilize our pasture, but we keep the cows off for a few rains. If we over seed we do it in the late winter and let the frost work it in, not sure that will work in TX. If you disk it, the cows will have to stay off until it has a good root base. We had the same problems here when we moved in 5 years ago, and now our pastures are beautiful. I'm sure you will get alot more advise on here.