Pasture Bloat?

Help Support CattleToday:

Quinton

Reaction score
I'm pretty new to cattle and I have a question: My father and I are raising some Jersey Bull Calves we got from a dairy. The other night after bottle feeding them we heard some bawling from the barn.Went out there and found a calf with a seriously swollen abdoman and it died within 5 minutes. Is this pasture bloat, even thought he was bottle fed?

Quinton

Welcome to the boards

Sorry to hear about your loss. If it occurred fairly quickly, it probably was bloat. Bloat can happen from both feed & pasture. This has been discussed several times previously. These posts will likely answer most of your questions. Would suggest you click on the Search button at the top of the page and do a search for "bloat". If, after reviewing these posts, you have unanswered questions, please feel free to post them.

Good luck & happy trails

Brock

shorthorn cowgirl":2nb0zhb0 said:
If bloat ever does happen we always pump just less than a gallon of pure vegie oal and it will be gone in the morin. Just make sure u dont get to much oil. :D

Have you all ever done the teknique where you take a needle and try to pop the bloat under the skin? Iv read that in a ranching book and have heard vets talk about it I just wondered how easy it was to do it.

fojokin":qhmcb4wr said:
shorthorn cowgirl":qhmcb4wr said:
If bloat ever does happen we always pump just less than a gallon of pure vegie oal and it will be gone in the morin. Just make sure u dont get to much oil. :D

Have you all ever done the teknique where you take a needle and try to pop the bloat under the skin? Iv read that in a ranching book and have heard vets talk about it I just wondered how easy it was to do it.

I hear a pint of oil is enough, probably depends on size of animal somewhat.