Opening Weekend!

Help Support CattleToday:

sidney411

Reaction score
Yipee!! It's opening weekend starting tomorrow! I am ready to go! How many other hunters do we have here? What are your plans? Where do you hunt? Got any awesome stories? What is your favorite rifle?

I hunt out at my dad's place, south-west of dallas. There are tons of deer up there. There aren't any deer to speak of on our farm, just a $hit load of hogs. I have several rifles, but my all time favorite is my trusty 6mm mag, I've been hunting with it for 8 years and I love it just as much as when we 1st got it, although it is getting harded to find the ammo.

Well, GOOD LUCK EVERYONE!!! May your toes be warm and your racks tall :D :D :D

I'm still curious about the "6mm Mag", would that be a .240 Weatherby?

Our season doesn't open till the 11th, but I'm ready, except for the cold!

dun

I have several rifles that I use. My favorite is my 270. I also shoot a 30/30 a 30-06 amd a 243.

I have a permit to hunt this weekend. Regular season starts next Saturday. Deer season is the true holiday season in my neck of the woods.

A 6 mm is an excellent deer round. My favorite rifle is a .270 Remington that I bought new when I was twelve.

JB

I went hunting on the NE youth weekend last week, goin on Kansas's this week. Shot some holes in some birds last week but they hit the ground runnin. Needed some bigger shells for the conditions.

Took a medium sized 8 point opening weekend (10-16 )of black powder season in Arkansas. Looking forward to gun season ( 11-13 ) now.

.308 Winchester Model 70 & a .54 White inline muzzle loader for me.

.243 for my wife ( I'm wanting to move her up to a 7mm-08 )

.30-06s for both the boys.

;-)

Openong day here is the 13th, getting more anxious each day it draws nearer. Going for the deer opening morning but going to the rodeo that night, back out at it again Sunday. Use a .243 or .270 most of the time.