one would think i was a newbie....

Help Support CattleToday:

rockridgecattle

Reaction score
...or a cluck minus some much needed brain cells.
Woke up this morning with the best of intentions. Had been reminding my husband that i wanted to pull out the last of the bulls by the end of August.
So today was the end of August. Last week we had them home but they were with a few cows. One got the bright idea of taking off and mixing with the main herd accross the rail tracks. (No trackes there now.) Travelled 1.5 miles around the perimeter of the quarter along a major road trying to find away in and hopped the fence to the Ladies.
So today was the day in my mind at all costs. The lost bull was at the end of the quarter furthest from the gate. I called the cows and the huband checked the Q for strays. Brougt them home, but not before husband took off to take the other animals to a pen at home (they were on the home Q because they were culls and the other bulls on the farm who were good).
Husband was on the 4 wheeler moving the culls to a pen and i waited for what seemed like forever. So i openned the gate and let the cows come home.

Now in previous cattle moves we had two way radios. But i lost mine again. Third time a charm because it is gone... but this is another good story.

Any how, the culls i guess had not made it all the way home and some got mixed in with the main herd. Husband was understanding. some comment about radios being handy but other than that OK

So we got the bulls in. One cow, Char/holstien cross was in heat. Got bred and the bulls got put away. the husband says " we should get her away from this paddock. the bulls could jump the fence" My response was why, they did there job. I guess cause i got a year older today i must have lost a few brain cells. it would have been smart.