old cow to butcher

Help Support CattleToday:

RodBod

Reaction score
I have a beefmaster cow who is 8 yrs. old. Barren the last 2 tears. I sure hate to give her away at the sale barn---would she be worth butchering. Any steaks or just hamburger & stew meat?

Hard to say what type condition she is in--but probably a fair share of the steaks and roasts sold at places like Wally world are old cow meat....

After she;s hung for a couple of weeks, have the butcher cut out a couple of steaks and try them. If they're OK just process her like usual, otherwise burger and stew

dun":jjrrl1ro said:
After she;s hung for a couple of weeks, have the butcher cut out a couple of steaks and try them. If they're OK just process her like usual, otherwise burger and stew

That's a great idea!

Cut the tenderloin and grind the rest. We have found that the tenderloin will still be tender even from a older cow or bull. I wouldn't count on the rest being all that paletable. Flank steak and brisket could be cut, they are cooked to death anyway.
And that's alot of ground beef.
Dave Mc

We butchered a mature cow last summer. Dressing weight won't be has high a percentage as a younger animal. She made good hamburger though and lots of it.

Farmgirl

Cut the tenderloin and grind the rest. We have found that the tenderloin will still be tender even from a older cow or bull. I wouldn't count on the rest being all that paletable. Flank steak and brisket could be cut, they are cooked to death anyway.
And that's alot of ground beef.
Dave Mc
Can you tell the difference in the toughness if the whole cow is ground? have a cow 24 years old and needs the ticket.
Hanging any meat should be the rule. Some say old cow are of a different flavor?

Can you tell the difference in the toughness if the whole cow is ground? have a cow 24 years old and needs the ticket.
Hanging any meat should be the rule. Some say old cow are of a different flavor?
Burger is burger!