Not sure if steers have abcess or other problem

Help Support CattleToday:

GoodValley

Reaction score
I am a hobby farmer with about 4 acres, fenced into three fields. This is my second winter with angus and I am the first to admit I am a total newcomer to this.

Last May (2006) my purebred black angus gave birth to twin bulls. So I have four angus: two baby bulls, a mother, and a heifer.

About 6 weeks after the bulls were born (maybe 8 weeks?) a vet came out and castrated them.

It's been a very wet winter here in the pacific NW. My field is very mucky, I am embarassed about that. One section, near their feeding barn, has muck that's 10 inches deep. Usually they stay in an area that has no muck though.

A month ago or so I noticed that both steer have a grotesque looking growth hanging down between their rear legs. It looks like it could be their ball sack, but I thought since the vet cut their balls off there should be nothing there. I would estimate one is about the size of a large grapefruit, the other a bit larger. I can not get very close to them but it looks like this is their penis, pee comes out of it. I hope I am just worried for no reason. The fact that both of the steer have the same thing makes me think it could be natural.

I was going to call a vet but I also got concerned that a vet may not like the muck here and say I am in violation of some accepted farming practice, and open up a can of worms. If I have to get them sedated by a vet, and the growth removed, I will. In the future I will probably cut back and just keep 2 animals on this land not 4.

All suggestions welcome. Thanks.

i dont really know anything about this but i do have one thing to say....
I was going to call a vet but I also got concerned that a vet may not like the muck here

ok he's a vet...he should be able to handle the muck...if he cant he needs to grow some balls himself.

:shock: I thought the muck was just part of the cattle