Noob rider Questions

Help Support CattleToday:

rpfarm25

Reaction score
Hey everyone, so with the snow hitting the ground this morning I though what better time to grab a cup of coffee and browse the forums.

I recently purchased a green broke 2 year old quater horse gelding. He is about 15.5 now and is expected to grow around 16. Now my last horse was broke beyond belief. But sadly I lost him due to old age (27 yo) so now I am in the process of teaching my new horse. I have no experience training a horse whatsoever, but im eager to learn. I rode him for the first time the other day and he saddles well and is calm, I though since he is a big boy and energetic that I would have trouble getting him to stop, but it was getting him to go that was the problem. I know all it will take many rides and a lot of time with him to get him where I want him to be but Im just not sure where to start. If he does something I dont want him to do how do you discipline him? I am also interested in training him to pull our sleigh in the winter and wagon in the summer, how does one go aout this.

I apologize for the noob questions but i guess i need to start somewhere. Thanks for any pointers everyone I really appreciate it!

A lot to digest there. Sounds like you have some riding experience, I know it feels like the next step should be breaking and training. Why don't you apprentice with someone in your area before undertaking such a large endeavor. Watching the guys and girls on RFD tv makes it look easy. Also many will tell you other wise I'm sure, but breaking a horse to pull a cart is excellent. Makes them learn to conserve energy. It'll give them a good soft mouth to if you do it right. Gets them flexing at the poll as well.