Newby here! Saying hello.

Help Support CattleToday:

CindyLea

Reaction score
Hello Folks, :pretty: :tiphat:

My husband and I are looking to start a cow-calf outfit in Northern Utah or Southern Idaho. Now, we live in a small rural city in North Eastern Utah. We want to have a place by the end of next year (2010).

We have family that ranches and farms in the area we have chosen, that is one of the reasons we choose that area. We also know that this is going to be alot of hard work. I have been researching anything and everything I can find related to agriculture. We are not complete newbs, we have both spent summers on farms, but never really got down to the nitty gritty. We were told to do this-do that; ok now you have to....

Anyway, we have nothing now. I have been looking for land in the area, and we may be able to buy/lease some off the family to get started. No equipment, no critters, nada. So, help me out here. I'm a bit overwhelmed with all the info.

What things do I HAVE to have from day one.
How do I choose which breed of cattle to run.
How do I know how many cattle I can run on my place.
How in the heck do I read a cattle market report?? I've looked at them from auctions in the area and I'm confused.
How many bulls per cows is a good ratio?
What about management software/accounting/record keeping?
Any links to info I can read up on?
Any do's and don't would be great!

Thank you all for helping out the newb!

Thank you! I've been all over this site! You folks have a wealth of info and wise offerings! I'll be busy reading before I post much more.

CindyLea":9r6qyr07 said:
Hello Folks, :pretty: :tiphat:

My husband and I are looking to start a cow-calf outfit in Northern Utah or Southern Idaho. Now, we live in a small rural city in North Eastern Utah. We want to have a place by the end of next year (2010).