Newbie Here! Question about Heifer calving ? moaning

Help Support CattleToday:

ginnkam

Reaction score
I have a almost three year old hereford cross heifer bred to an easy calving angus hereford cross bull, she was due to calve on April 27, and for the last two days she will lie down and moan and grown, she seems very uncomfortable. She is very swollen on the back end, her udder is reasonably full, and she appears to have dropped (*there is a distinct hollowing around her hip bones (like she lost weight), and her tail is very distinct.) When she swishes her tail she is so loose that it actually jiggles and opens up. I am sorry if I am being too vivid (but this will be my first calf since we started cattle farming). When she lies down she seems to be straining, you can actually see the opening about 5 inches long and 1 inch open in width. There is no discharge that I can see. I guess my main concern is for her and her calves well being. I am very scared that the calf is malpresented and I don't know if I should attempt to check her for fear of making things worse. Any advice would be great. thanks

Call your vet. If this is your first experience with cattle, you need professional help.

You might want to contact your Vet asap. With our cows, once they start pacing, circling, nosing their sides, etc., and bagged up, they'll probably calve within 24 hours. Once the water breaks and the first small water bag protrudes, calving is possibly not more than 4 hours away. Stage 2 of labor should probably not last more than 1 to 4 hours...if it does, contact Vet asap. Once front feet start to protrude, calving will probably happen within an hour or so. A first calf heifer tends to take longer than a "already done that" cow (who can enter Stage 2 labor and calve in 15 to 60 minutes).

The old rule applies: "If in doubt and if you think there is a real problem, get assistance from a knowledgeable cattle neighbor or your Vet".

ginnkam":15qouj7e said: