New To The Cattle Business

Help Support CattleToday:

coalcreekfarms10

Reaction score
Hello everyone. I am new to the cattle world and have a lot to learn quickly. So, please don't think any less of me when I ask these questions as I am just trying to get my feet wet in the cattle business.

1. What are replacement and commercial heifers? Like what are the differences and advantage/disadvantage of each.
2. When people talk about working calves and they are giving them shots, what kind of shots are they giving them exactly?
3. Is it better to wean a calf based on age or weight? I guess what I am asking is how do you know when the best time is to wean a calf that you are going to sell?
4. When you do wean a calf what is the best feed to feed them so they will still gain weight before going to market?

I think this is all I have for now but I am sure there will be many more soon. If there is any links or websites you have to help a beginner out please don't hesitate to send them my way.

Thank you so much in advance for your help.

coalcreekfarms10":79iv8j1v said:
Hello everyone. I am new to the cattle world and have a lot to learn quickly. So, please don't think any less of me when I ask these questions as I am just trying to get my feet wet in the cattle business.

1. What are replacement and commercial heifers? Like what are the differences and advantage/disadvantage of each. Replacement heifers are heifers that are typically raised/bought to replace older cows in the herd and become brood cows. Commercial heifers are heifers that are not registered.
2. When people talk about working calves and they are giving them shots, what kind of shots are they giving them exactly?Working calves can include tagging, castrating, vaccinating, worming, etc