New to cattle needs some help

Help Support CattleToday:

zendog

Reaction score
I am new to raising beef cattle. This year I raised two steers and sold them directly to consumers. I enjoyed this and may have made a little money. I want to do it again, but I want to raise small cattle because it is easier to sell smaller sides to consumers. (Thanks for the help on my Lowline Angus post.) My first thought was to get a local dairy farmer to AI some cows to Lowline Angus, but folks on the dairy forum convinced me that was a bad idea. I really did not want own and breed cows, but I have found it is impossible to find small steers reasonably priced. So I am ready to grow my own.

I have talked to a rancher who wants to sell three 8 year old ½ Lowline ½ full size Angus, each with ¾ Lowline bull calf at her side. He is asking $1,200 for each pair. What should I consider before I buy these and what is a fair purchase price?

I know I have the pasture and fence to handle them. I do not want to have a larger herd in the future, nor do I want to own a bull if not necessary. I am certain these cows are 8 years old and in sound health because the rancher selling them is a Hoosier but, you never can tell, he may have come from Texas, in which case, what would I look for to know these are sound cattle likely to be productive for a few more years? :)

The cows need to be bred in July and the current owner needs to move them off of his pasture now. I assume I need a vet to castrate the bull calves and AI the cows. What do I need to consider?

It is difficult for a hobby farmer like me without cattlemen buddies to talk to to even know what questions to ask or what things to look for, much less what to offer, so I really appreciate your insight.

$1,200 for the pair of that age may be a little high with the cows having that much age and being a little small, but with you shooting for a niche market and this being a good fit, probably not to far out of line.