New Small Cattle Farm

Help Support CattleToday:

south0085

Reaction score
Thank you for your time. My Dad and I just purchased an 8 acre mini-farm. We are wanting to put a few head of cattle on the land. We want weaned cattle that we can fatten up to sell. I have some basic questions. I am new to farming. I am not looking to get rich. We hope to make a dollar or two, but this will be something that my Dad and I enjoy doing together and also something that we can give to my son as he grows up.

1. Can the cattle eat grass only? Or do I need to supplement with some kind of feed?

2. If they need feed, how do I know which kind and how much?

3. Do I need hay bails for them to eat everyday?

3. What is a good type of cattle for us to start with? We live in Central Kentucky.

In the next couple of weeks, I am visiting with a couple of farmers that I go to church with to ask them everything that I can. But in the meantime, I'm trying to learn as much as possible.

Thank you again for all your help.

There's no single answer to your question. I suggest you have some of the cattlemen from your church come to your place to help you assess. Grass is enough if there's enough grass - and good enough grass. If not, then they need feed. Price/type/quantity? Depends on how much grass and or hay you have and, perhaps, the gestational stage of the cows. Hay? Yes if they don't have enough good grass. No if they do have enough good grass. Again, no way of knowing any of that on this side of my computer. Sorry.

Breed? If I were personally starting from scratch I would buy whatever someone was willing to help me with, but I prefer some super quiet herefords with an angus bull. No horns - no need to throw that in the mix when you're starting. Above all else - before you get anything - have a way to catch and doctor them if you have to..... and you will eventually have to so find a vet.

Don't forget salt and mineral.

south0085":2d7iwrhh said: