New Calf

Help Support CattleToday:

bo96319

Reaction score
Hi all, my cow just had her and my first calf, I saw her at lunch with no calf or signs and then when I came home from work she was standing there with a little one!!! Everything seems to be going just fine, however, I was told by my wifes Grandpa (who 40 years ago worked on a dairy farm) I need to milk the cow every morning and night...milk her dry or she will get mastis and die. Now, I am more of a nature will take care of things kinda guy. I am new to this and did not try to start a cow calf farm, but things happen and well you all sound like you have more expieriance than me, so what do you say... The calf drank or milked a few times and had a white broth on the corners of her mouth. Should I milk her or just keep an eye on them, also should I take her away from other cows? I have holstien and a LONG HORN <---love them long horns! anyway leave em milk em???

bo96319":et4w2hfx said:
Hi all, my cow just had her and my first calf, I saw her at lunch with no calf or signs and then when I came home from work she was standing there with a little one!!! Everything seems to be going just fine, however, I was told by my wifes Grandpa (who 40 years ago worked on a dairy farm) I need to milk the cow every morning and night...milk her dry or she will get mastis and die. Now, I am more of a nature will take care of things kinda guy. I am new to this and did not try to start a cow calf farm, but things happen and well you all sound like you have more expieriance than me, so what do you say... The calf drank or milked a few times and had a white broth on the corners of her mouth. Should I milk her or just keep an eye on them, also should I take her away from other cows? I have holstien and a LONG HORN <---love them long horns! anyway leave em milk em???