New bull, lease or buy?

Help Support CattleToday:

shaz

Reaction score
Hey guys,
I've been renting a bull from Tn Livestock Producers for the last 4 years. Cost is 1300 per year. Wondering if I wouldn't be better off buying an 18 month old bull this time around.

I haven't bought a bull since Jan 2012. What is a reasonable price for an 18 month old Angus bull with fairly uniform EPDs?

Thanks

In my area in East TN, 2-3000 would get you a nice bull. You could find some for more or less, but that's the typical price range I see most in. It might be different in your part off the state though. Not sure if you would be interested in the TAEP program or not, but it would pay up to 50% towards a qualifying bull.

2 year lease cost will buy a decent bull. How long would you keep one? We have bulls we bought in 2012.... good bulls stay here. We have enough cows to move them around and seldom if ever would they get accidently used on their daughters. Rent out a couple to farmers with only 10-20 cows. Good dispositions and good calves means they stay. They will pay for themselves easily that way. If you only use one for 2-3 months, might not be worth buying, but then 1300 is alot of money for a couple of months work.

Buy a virgin bull or a bull from a reputable source with a negative Trichomoniasis test.
$3,500 is a pretty avg starting point for good 18mos bulls around here.

Sounds like you are paying alot. Sorry bulls rent for $500/yr here.

Lowest cost good bull is a proven 3 to 5 year old from an operation that is retaining heifers.

I bought a good 5 year old for $2,000 and then used him for two years, for $350 per year in depreciation plus feed..

Last edited:
Shaz I never caught how many cows you were covering with the $1300 rental. A decent bull will cover at least 20 or more cows in two chycles
Three for sure if you don't need them that close. Consider the cows you have and the heifers from them would be from a different bull