New Beef Farm Questions

Help Support CattleToday:

kricketfarm

Reaction score
Hey, I'm looking to try and start a beef farm here in the next few years. I want to know some of the things I may need to research and what equipment I may need to invest in prior to my ETS from the Army (currently, I should be getting out in 2016). In order to create a cost-effective and and sustainable farm for beef cattle, what do I need to get ready for?

Thanks for any advice as I am new to this.

Handling facilities are handy to have in place before the cattle arrive.
Cross fencing is valuable for stretching grass life.
Just a couple.
Do you already have a place in mind?

Just noticed the word "sustainable".
That's a pretty wide open term to define or respond to.

Stationed in Ft. Drum, but located in Afghanistan right now :? . What I meant by sustainable was to be successful. Just looking for some tips on getting started, or maybe things I should invest in order to prepare myself for the next couple years. How many cattle would be a good starting point? How much money should I look at saving up or applying for in a loan?

You'll just have to price land in the area you choose. It ain't going to be cheap anywhere. Decide what you can afford, then look at how many animals that acreage will support. Look at the cost of heifers or bred cows is going to cost in that particular area, and go from there, but you also have to figure cost of fencing, shelter, and at least what the care and feed cost will be for the first year.

Mostly what you need to do is a lot of reading and talking to real farmers ranchers--especially on the ground--in that area.
County agent is a good place to start. You can't beat face to face information no matter how good magazines or the internet is.
Don't go in to this blind and un-informed--it's trouble enough even for people who have done it for years.

kricketfarm":ihqmgvkg said: