New Ag Student

Help Support CattleToday:

WarriorPatriot

Reaction score
Hi I'm Becca I'm new here, I'm starting to get into FFA at my school and we are going to start a calf raising project and bottle feed them. I'm familiar with cattle and showing as my cousins show steers for 4-H and I help out. So I picked here to come to find more info about cattle raising and showing as it seems everyone here is very knowledgeable. :D

Hello Becca. I am very glad to hear from you and know you are interested in Agriculture and cattle. Good luck with your ventures and feel free to ask any question.

Scotty

Welcome Becca; Be sure and check out the Show Board if you're interested in Showing. Good luck with your project.

Welcome to the boards Becca.

I was a FFA student as well, and found it to have been a great experience. Hope it proves to be the same for you.

Please take this advice...if you are absolutely new to cattle raising, especially bottle feeding calves......

do your homework and prepare your facilities BEFORE you get an animal.become knowledgable about illnesses, symptoms, as well as treatments, and proper nutritional needs of your growing calf.

be prepared for those things that can and will go wrong..ie: sickness, accidents, etc.

start you calf off right, using the very best REAL milk replacer and calf starter grain you can find. You can look for less expensive feeds etc, AFTER the calf has had a good start.

make sure you vaccinate when age is appropriate to do so.

Find a mentor that is willing to spend time with you and your project, one that REALLY knows what they are doing, NOT just thinking, or hoping they know.

Wish you the very best of luck! :cboy:

Welcome Becca...alot of great advice here, we don't show as our kids have finished with it and we are waiting for the grandkids to start 4H in a couple of years.