Need some help

Help Support CattleToday:

chadreed88

Reaction score
I'm new to the cattle business and have some questions. I would like to learn more about how and what needs to be done to cattle on a regular basis (such as worming) to keep them healthy. What medications should be kept around for them on normal problems and what are some things to watch out for in cattle. Is there a website that has information to learn things from or do you pretty much just have to learn it in the field? Want to learn how to keep from calling a vet everytime something happens and then also how to keep them in great shape

As a beginner myself I think three important things about keeping the herd healthy are:

1) start with healthy animals from a known preferably local source that will stand behind them;
2) establish a preventative medicine program = regular vet visits when they are not sick. Depending on your setup, you can sometimes treat the whole (small) herd with shots etc quicker than a vet visit for one sick animal. The cost per animal per year is very low compared to waiting for something serious.
3) have a good mineral program. Trace elements work wonders sometimes at maintaining health.

I would find a good experienced large animal vet in your local area and ask him what he suggests. jmho. Good luck.

I think you found the best website for info. I would consult the vet for a good local vaccine/worming program.

chadreed88":1njaxjpf said: