NEED HELP TRAINING MY SHOW HEIFER!!

Help Support CattleToday:

~young~showman~

Reaction score
Well so far my heifier has been ,for the most part, gentle. Today i went out to feed her she wasn't so gentle. I climbed ouver here pen, stood up about to grab my feed bucket, and she head-butted me and pushed me against the pen!!! Before she has lightly nudged me with her head, but nothing like this. I need some help on how to control this because the first show comes up in 3 weeks, and this is my first time showing so this makes me very nevous!!! Please help, and thank you!!!

I have only been showing (halter breaking) cattle for a few years so I'm sure there are others on this forum that know more than me....... Halter cattle can become really pushy as they become broke as they really aren't afraid of you anymore. They need to learn that certain behaviors are NOT ok! I have some yearling horned bulls that are as broke and gentle as can be but I must go into their pen to grain them and they used to get really pushy and try to knock me around to get to the grain. I just knock them on the head (on the bridge of their nose kinda between the eyes), usually with my boot cause that's all I have but you could carry something with you. Not real hard but hard enough that it get's their attention. A couple of times of this and she will probably stop. Good Luck!

Is your heifer already halter broke? How long have you had her? Is she by herself? Cattle are herd animals.