Need hay rake

Help Support CattleToday:

chadreed88

Reaction score
What kind of hay rakes do you recommend that are under $4,000? We want a 8 or 10 wheel rake. We are in North Texas so any help would be great.

chadreed88":x5j4a4mj said:
What kind of hay rakes do you recommend that are under $4,000? We want a 8 or 10 wheel rake. We are in North Texas so any help would be great.
id go with a wheel rake on a caddy.10 or 12 wheel rake works real good.

If you should buy a used rake, check the main arms for cracks where they attach to the pivots.

dun

Not that this is what ya want but I just thought I'd chime in. I used to use a NH roll-a-bar when I had my dairy. Now that I am back into beef, I bought an almost new Kuhn GA 3200GT rake for 2,400. What a nice rake that is.

chadreed88":26a4lgjq said:
Have you priced the vermeer 8 wheel rake with the durabull wheels. It might be in your price range. I have the same rake that I have been using for 8 years. I do not have the durabull wheels on it. It is the same rake as the tonutti, John Deere has the same rake painted green and yellow.

Bought a used Vermeer 8 wheel rake this year for just over 2K. It had only been used to rake last year by someone I knew that bought a bigger model and did not like what they were going to give him for a trade.

It cut my raking time down by 2/3. Loved just the one pass idea instead of one or two trips one way and then another trip the other way with a traditional rake for a good windrow. With fuel prices on the rise plus your time added as cash it is worth the money to me. New ones are less than 3K.

J

Thanks for everyones advise. We ended up buying a 10 wheel AG-MAXX. It is very nice and will rake hay very well. Anyone needing any hay let me know we have some available and would make some good deals to get it moving.