NCBA marketing question

Help Support CattleToday:

pwilli3

Reaction score
In my real life I am a chef. Ranching is a dream and I am just gathering all the knowledge about it I can at this point. As a chef I work in a top-tier steak house. One of the things the NCBA does with us is to try to get us to put new "lesser" cuts of beef on the menu. I use "lesser" because they are the newer cuts they are trying to promote to bring better value out of a harvested carcass. They are usually pretty decent cuts that I would actually like to use like Terres Major (petite tender, shoulder tender), flat iron, or their new favorite the "delmonico".

The problem is I believe they are attacking the marketing problem all wrong. Restaurants have tried, and continue to try, to put these cuts on the menu because they are a great value from our perspective. The problem is our consumers shy away from them because they do not know what they are. Then we end up grinding them or throwing them out because they don't sell. Every time we do a dinner for the NCBA or the state beef council they want us to use the stuff, and we do, and the guests rave about it. The problem is, the only reason they are trying it is because they spent half the day being told how great it is on a tour of some sort, and then are eating it on someone else's dime.

I would love to use these cuts because it would be a win/win/win/win situation all the way from the producer, to the packer, to the restaurant, to the consumer. I just think they are going about it a bit backward. Producers are sold on it. Packers are sold on it. Restaurants are nearly sold on it. The consumer still has little or no idea what it is.