Navel ILL Heifer calf

Help Support CattleToday:

Hereford2

Reaction score
Hi, what's you'alls experience with navel I'll. I have a beef heifer calf that is now 16 days old. When she was a week old, I noticed her limping on her Right front leg and her navel felt squishy and the cord was damp and red at the top. The vet said to give her Exceed and Banimine , then the next day give her more Banimine, then give her Exceed every 7 days until it is gone. She didn't have a fever or act sick at all. And after she ran and tripped she was walking and running on 3 legs, for about 30 minutes then she started limping on that leg again. After the Exceed and 2 rounds of Banimine, she had a barely noticeable hitch to her gait. Which went away completely, I still gave her the 2nd round of Exeed. Then last night she was running, tripped and started limping on that leg again. Her navel looks fine. And I never was able to get any puss out of it. The vet said I caught it early. This is my first time dealing with it. Does this sound like navel I'll? Or a leg injury?

Attachments

• KIMG1302.JPG
    KIMG1302.JPG
    4 MB · Views: 23
  • KIMG1303.JPG
    KIMG1303.JPG
    3.4 MB · Views: 23
  • KIMG1305.JPG
    KIMG1305.JPG
    3.3 MB · Views: 20
  • KIMG1308.JPG
    KIMG1308.JPG
    2.8 MB · Views: 21
  • KIMG1309.JPG
    KIMG1309.JPG
    2.9 MB · Views: 23
I've only had navel ill once and the calf never had a limp but he was only a few days old when I noticed his massive navel & treated with Resflor Gold, every other day for a week. I don't see any obvious swelling on your calfs' leg - also makes me wonder if it's an injury, maybe got stepped on.

Attachments

• Apr 6.jpg
    Apr 6.jpg
    5.2 MB · Views: 9
  • IMG_20200404_084655823.jpg
    IMG_20200404_084655823.jpg
    4.5 MB · Views: 9
Oh wow, . My calf's navel never looked like that... She couldn't have been stepped on, because she's penned separate, but I thought maybe she caught it on the fence or something?