My new "herd"

Help Support CattleToday:

Rockdale

Reaction score
Newbie here...I like red, I like ear and I like leather, so I purchased the 3 Red Brangus heifers in the photo. First photo is the 3 girls at the seller's place before loading them into the trailer.

Here's a photo of their sire.

Here's a couple of shots of the girls settled into their new home...

Based on the seller's description, they should be about 20 months old now. I'm thinking of breeding them (possibly AI) to a Beefmaster bull. Any bull calves will be cut, and fed out for freezer stock. I already have a list of friends wanting to buy the meat. Heifers will be kept until I get the herd built up.

Regards,
Don

Congratulations on your new cattle!! Looks nice. I can't wait to get started up again. Beefmaster is my second favorite breed ( Brahman being the first) would make a nice choice to breed them too, however Hereford maybe better by them being Red Baldies you can sell them really quick if you choose to do so. I would just be concerned about the loose skin and too much ear with the Beefmasters and the Red Brangus cross if you sold at the barn. But since you're eating the steers you should be ok. Either way best of luck.

red - check
ear - check
leather - check.

I like a person who knows what they want!! Good luck. :welcome:

angus9259":2ih3fxls said:
red - check
ear - check
leather - check.

I like a person who knows what they want!! Good luck. :welcome:

:lol2: :lol2: For once, I got it right! Thanks!