minerals and etc.

Help Support CattleToday:

ivan.strilk

Reaction score
a have a few calves from 200lb-500 (not on mothers). they are on the pastur and i was wandering what kind of minerals should i give them?

Jeanne - Simme Valley":35s6np81 said:
You should go to your feed store & buy LOOSE mineral designed for your area. Do not use a mineral BLOCK.

Jeanne, I'm pretty new to cattle, so pardon a newbie potentially if this is a stupid question :help:
Why loose vs. block. Is it an age thing, or a better choice at any age?
Thank you!
J

ivan.strilk":26g9wojo said:
a have a few calves from 200lb-500 (not on mothers). they are on the pastur and i was wandering what kind of minerals should i give them?

Most of the time a good 12-12-12 mineral will be fine. 50# bag should cost between $20 and $30...there are products out their called "Trace mineral blocks". Nothing but salt with a bit of calcium. Not what you need. There is no certainty the calves need any additional but put it out for them and let them decide if and how much they need.

CottageFarm":261gbqv4 said:
Thank you!
J

Read the contents of the blocks. Most are 97% salt. Hence, a 50 pound block has a pound &half mineral. That is not gonna work. A whole lot of folks go through the expense of learning the hard way. Loose mineral is cheap over the long haul. If I were going to skimp on anything, it wouldn't be mineral.

And if you want stay ahead of the flys get minerals with IGR (Insect Growth Regulator) or Altosid (second choice)

backhoeboogie":3ar05lnb said:
CottageFarm":3ar05lnb said:
Thank you!
J

Read the contents of the blocks. Most are 97% salt. Hence, a 50 pound block has a pound &half mineral. That is not gonna work. A whole lot of folks go through the expense of learning the hard way. Loose mineral is cheap over the long haul. If I were going to skimp on anything, it wouldn't be mineral.