Marketing Question

Help Support CattleToday:

bgm

Reaction score
I'm fairly new to the cattle business and am wondering about prices at the sale barn.

I see, let's say for example the 600lb steers are going for $144.50 cwt. That's $867.00 per head

The slaughter cows are going for $60.00 cwt. Assuming a 1300lb animal that's $780.00 per head

How do the buyers of the 600lb animals make any money feeding them out?
Is there a way for me to turn this around so I can make a bigger profit on the larger animals?
Or an I better off selling the animals at around 600 lbs?

Sell them the Caustic Burno way - he has mentioned how he does it many times and the pencil always wins.

PM him if you cannot find him on a search. Too tired to go into it tonight.

Bez

bgm":3fvppb82 said:
I'm fairly new to the cattle business and am wondering about prices at the sale barn.

I see, let's say for example the 600lb steers are going for $144.50 cwt. That's $867.00 per head

The slaughter cows are going for $60.00 cwt. Assuming a 1300lb animal that's $780.00 per head

How do the buyers of the 600lb animals make any money feeding them out?
Is there a way for me to turn this around so I can make a bigger profit on the larger animals?
Or an I better off selling the animals at around 600 lbs?

In looking at stock market reports here in OK, 600 lb feeder steers are selling in the $1.20+ range. So that changes your estimate considerably. There's not a lot of money, even at todays prices, to be made on one animal.

Buyers expect to make money on the cattle they buy, whether they're buying weaners at the sale barn or for the feedlot and will price them accordingly.