Maines/Club Calves

Help Support CattleToday:

capparelli

Reaction score
I have been told by a few people that Maines usually don't milk very well. I was wondering if that's true for the most part. I am looking at two heifers out of Who Made Who that are bred to Ali. They are really nice, I was just wondering how Who cows usually do as momma cows. I will probably be showing their calves if they are nice quality. I have been showing cows for the past 6 years but have never shown any Maines. When I am done showing I usually put my cows out to pasture to raise calves, they dont remain show heifers forever. I was just wondering how Maine X cows usually do out in the pasture. Any info/advice would be appreciated.

i have heard that who mothers are good but before you buy those heifers watch their structure because who throws a lot of cripples

richburg102":fxt0rwur said:
i have heard that who mothers are good but before you buy those heifers watch their structure because who throws a lot of cripples
only when bred to the wrong cow. And are there really a lot? no. It's just be whine about one bad calf more than the praise the 30 that are perfectly sound.

Capparelli,

The Maine-Anjou breed became official between the Maine and Anjou river valleys of France in 1909. The first Maine-Anjou cattle in North America were imported into Canada in 1969. The original Fullblood Maine-Anjou were Red and White, with a white triangle on the forehead. These cattle were used as a dual purpose breed, with the cows used for milk production, and the bulls fed for market. Many farms used every other cow to raise two calves, and milk the other. So, to answer your question; Yes, Fullblood Maine-Anjou cattle are very good milking cows.
The American Maine-Anjou Association recognizes Purebred cattle as those registered above 75%. Most of these are now black, containing as little as 1/32 Angus genetics. Maintainer cattle are those registered 25% to 62.5%.