Lowline Angus

Help Support CattleToday:

zendog

Reaction score
I raised a couple of Angus X Simmental steers this year and sold 3 sides direct to customers for $2.00 per pound – custom cut, wrapped, labeled and frozen. I am a hobby farmer. I was not looking to make money, but I did OK. I may have made a little, I will have a freezer full of great beef, and I certainly had a lot of fun.

I want to do this next year, but I am looking at smaller breeds because, the only problem I have found is locating people who can handle 370+ pounds of meat at one time.

The small beef cow I am most interested in is the Lowline Angus. My Internet research leads me to believe that raising Lowline Angus for seed stock is where big money can be made by serious cattlemen – for the next decade. First, these ARE fad animals, like Llamas were and Alpacas are but, unlike Llamas and Alpacas – which have no real value in agriculture, the Lowline Angus appear to be more than competitive with any other breed of cattle for production of beef for market. That is: they produce more quality beef per acre of pasture and they have a host of other advantages, for example (see: http://www.minicowswest.com/info.htm). Once the fad is over and these animals are selling at market price, a lot of serious producers, not just hobby farmers like me, will be replacing their beef herds with these little guys.

I would like to raise Lowline steers next year unfortunately, the inflated market makes that very difficult. Ranchers raising Lowline Angus are selling small cattle at very large prices to other folks wanting to cash in while the supply is very small and the demand high. You would not think that steers (whose only value is beef) would sell for much more than market price, but apparently, a lot of people want them for the same reason I do: better sized sides of beef for direct to customer sales.