Losing a child

Help Support CattleToday:

NO , you do not. I could write ten thousand words here, most sentences would start with What If.... No , Never Frankie.

Just "us" in Wisconsin
In answer to the question, Do you ever get over the loss of a child? The answer is a resounding-NO!!! But somehow because we all have to get up every day, even if we did not sleep-you plug along. We lost our 8 year old daughter sixteen years ago yesterday the 21st of Dec, 1993. Our life has will never be the same, I worked full time in the health care industry and after years of suffering with physical injuries from the accident and the emotional toll I just couldn't keep doing it anymore. I tried to even work part-time but could not put in the hours, finally had to file for social security because of permanent damage to my back and neck. And the physical pain is nothing compared to the "LOSS" which can and will never be replace. We have a son who is in the army and served in Iraq and I thought I would go crazy when he was over there. His unit was deployed again last year but he is now a recruiter so he did not have to go. I don't think I could live through it again. He is my only child now, NOT that you could ever replace one anyway. Without our faith I just don't know how we ever would have managed. We enjoyed the farm so much, that's why we are trying to find a job for my husband as a herdsman/ranch hand type of position. He worked union construction for years but it always invovles traveling some. We love the beef animals. One thing is, you are never alone-there is a lot of people out there grieving also. Not much to say that really helps-just say something-don't just keep on walking and say nothing. Support groups do help some.
This time of year only makes it that much worse!