Looking for a job

Help Support CattleToday:

dan571

Reaction score
I live in the Fort Worth area and I am looking for a job where I can learn the cattle business. I would like to own a cattle operation in the future, but I have very little experience. I have been a teacher for a few years and now I am looking for a change. This is something that I am serious about and willing to commit to. If anyone can help me out I would appreciate it.

Keep teaching. It is possible to do both. I farm about 150 acres and run a small cow - calf operation and still teach little punk 6th graders.

I agree with mhill.
If you are gonna give up $40,000 + a year, then you better have a good plan. One where you already have a lot of money and/or land. I teach/coach and would love to have a cow/calf operation that would earn me a decent living, but when you start putting #'s together, they just don't add up.

I'm starting out small(4 heifers and 5 acres) and learning as I go and hoping to expand later. Want to learn about the cattle business? Then start reading this site. That's what I did. It might take a few months to read, cause these people know a lot and they like to talk about cattle.

Good luck

Very well said 9 ER. I moved to the farm in 02, never even seen a cow up close! Most of my first year working with the cows consisted of starting my sentences with "Dun says....", or "Txag does...." etc... Now I have men that have raised cattle for YEARS telling me I know alot about cattle. Stick around, and ask questions, I've asked my fair share of dumb ones, called a bull calf a steer (got corrected real quick), and read alot. As far as the cows, I started small just to get my toes wet, and now have almost 300 head. Good luck, and don't quit your day job just yet! :D [/b]

Dee":28izumju said:
As far as the cows, I started small just to get my toes wet, and now have almost 300 head. Good luck, and don't quit your day job just yet! :D [/b]

Talk about a success story :clap: